This is my essay on Malala!

By Anna Maryam Smith. Article One

Malala Yousafzai: Portrait of the girl blogger

10 October 2012


TASK:
Write a short, reflective essay on Malala and her bravery.

This article is about a young girl named Malala Yousafzai. She is from a small town in Pakistan where they don’t have very much money. When she was 11 she started writing a BBC Urdu diary/blog about her life under the occupation of the Taliban. She wrote incognito. She was very brave. One day the Taliban declared that Girls were not allowed to go to school. They were also not allowed to wear bright clothing. Eventually after Malala had been writing her blog/diary for quite a long time, some Taliban soldiers found out and seeked to kill Malala. One day she was on a bus and the Taliban soldiers asked to see Malala. Eventually Malala stepped up and was shot through the head and the neck. She is now recovering in a hospital. It is amazing that she survived.

I think that Malalas life must have been terrible because she couldn’t go to school. I would have felt trapped and lonely and I wouldn’t know what to do with my life.
If I was in Malala’s situation I would probably be sad and bored all the time. It is not like having a break or weekend because at those (WONDERFUL) times you know that you will return to school so you don’t miss it.
If I know myself then I would probably NOT write a blog because I would be afraid that is would harm me or my family or friends. I know that doesn’t make me look very brave but that is just the way I am, but maybe if it could be the only way my family could be free from the Taliban I might write a blog to save them. I would also maybe to save my country and to stand up and have a voice so the rest of the world would know, and try to act.  I do not know how to say exactly what I will do because I have never been put in that situation. I guess it is just a more violent version of a school bully. I would want to stand up against the bully and help the victim.

Conclusion

The global community could create protests about Malala and the Taliban if they haven’t already, and I would really like the Taliban to get to know the other religions and learn to understand them and accept them if only they would listen. I think that it is a very good idea to write a blog about an issue for the BBC, so everyone can know about it. Malala is a very brave girl. I have just been wondering about the opinion the Taliban has about all of this mayhem. I think that the Taliban should just leave Pakistan. But it would probably be very hard to get them to do that. One thing is certain though; Malala did a very brave thing and she deserved that prize and honor. I am very glad that she survived and I am also very glad that she is recovering. I definitely hope that Malala will make a full recovery.

which articles in the Convention on Children’s Rights were broken by the Taliban?


The Taliban broke the 15th childrens right: Children have the right to meet with other children and young people and to join groups and organizations, as long as this does not stop other people from enjoying their rights.

They broke the article
28
Children have the right to an education.
Discipline in schools should respect children’s
human dignity. Primary education should be
free. Wealthier countries should help poorer
countries achieve this.

They broke article 1 :Everyone under 18 years of age has all the
rights in this Convention.

They broke: article
12
Children have the right to say what they
think should happen when adults are making
decisions that affect them and to have their
opinions taken into account.

They broke: article
28
Children have the right to an education.
Discipline in schools should respect children’s
human dignity. Primary education should be
free. Wealthier countries should help poorer countries achieve this.

article
31
Children have the right to relax, play and to
join in a wide range of leisure activities.
article

One thought on “This is my essay on Malala!

Leave a comment